PhD Symposium PDF Print E-mail

The ESWC2009 PhD Symposium will continue the successful series of PhD symposia collocated with the main Semantic Web conferences. The goal of the symposium is to provide a unique opportunity for PhD students to open up their work in front of other academics than their supervisors. They will be able to present their work and get feedback on their topic and approach from leading scientists in the field and from fellow students. Additionally, the forum will provide an opportunity to meet other students, to learn about their work and last, but not least, to discuss PhD related issues.

We welcome submissions on all major topics related to Semantic Web research, including, but not limited to those of relevance for ESWC2009. Submissions will be reviewed by at least two members of the scientific advisory board. Selected papers will be published in the conference proceedings and will be presented in front of other students and senior researchers (either in a regular presentation session or in a poster session). Each accepted contribution will be assigned to a scientific advisor who will provide extended feedback on the presented research. We encourage submissions from all PhD students, and especially those in their first years of PhD.


Important dates

Submission: January 16, 2009 (11:59 pm Hawaii time)

Notification: February 23, 2009

Camera Ready: March 09, 2009

PhD Student Travel Grant: March 16, 2009

PhD Symposium: 1st June, 2009



Submissions should be structured around the following topics which are the key methodological components required for a sound research narrative:

  • Problem: describe the core problem of the PhD and motivate its relevance for the Semantic Web area;
  • State of the art: describe relevant related work and point out areas that need to be improved;
  • Proposed Approach: present the approach taken and motivate how this is novel with respect to existing work;
  • Methodology: sketch the methodology that is (or will be) adopted and, in particular, the approach to be taken for evaluating the results of the work;
  • Results: describe the current status of the work and any results that have been reached so far;
  • Conclusions and future work: conclude and specify the major items of future work.

Note that students which have a paper accepted in the main research track on a certain topic can still submit a paper in which they describe the overall idea and status of their PhD following the template above.
Submissions should be no longer than 5 pages and must be formatted in the style of the Springer Publications format for Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS). Papers must be in PDF (Adobe's Portable Document Format) format and must be submitted electronically through the conference submission site. Papers will not be accepted in any other format. We will not accept research papers that, at the time of submission, are under review for or have already been published in or accepted for publication in a journal or another conference.

For more information about the Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) please click here.

Submissions to the PhD Symposium


PhD Symposium Chairs

Riichiro Mizoguchi, The Institute of Scientific and Industrial Research, Osaka University (Japan)

Marta Sabou, Knowledge Media Institute (KMi), The Open University (U.K.)

Program Committee

Paolo Bouquet, University of Trento (Italy)
Paul Buitelaar, DFKI (Germany)
Mathieu d'Aquin, The Open University (U.K.)
Martin Dzbor, The Open University (U.K.)
Jerome Euzenat, INRIA Rhone-Alpes (France)
Adam Funk, University Of Sheffield (U.K.)
Stefania Galizia, INNOVA S.p.A. (Italy)
Carole Goble, University of Manchester (U.K.)
Alessio Gugliotta, INNOVA S.p.A. (Italy)
Peter Haase, University of Karlsruhe (Germany)
Tom Heath, Talis Information Ltd (U.K.)
Martin Hepp, Bundeswehr University Munich (Germany)
Pascal Hitzler, University of Karlsruhe (Germany)
Diana Maynard, University of Sheffield (U.K.)
Eduardo Mena, University of Zaragoza (Spain)
Peter Mika, Yahoo! Research (Spain)
Dunja Mladenic, J.Stefan Institute (Slovenia)
Natasha Noy, Stanford University (U.S.A.)
Daniel Olmedilla, Telefonica R&D (Spain)
Jeff Z. Pan, University of Aberdeen (U.K.)
Terry Payne, University of Liverpool (U.K.)
Valentina Presutti, ISTC-CNR (Italy)
Guus Schreiber, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
Pavel Shvaiko, TasLab, Informatica Trentina (Italy)
Elena Simperl, STI Innsbruck (Austria)
Steffen Staab, University of Koblenz-Landau (Germany)
Heiner Stuckenschmidt, University of Mannheim (Germany)
Hideaki Takeda, University of Tokyo (Japan)
Valentina Tamma, University of Liverpool (U.K.)
Frank van Harmelen, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
Johanna Voelker, University of Karlsruhe (Germany)
Holger Wache, University of Applied Science Northweastern Switzerland (Switzerland)

Further information

For any questions regarding the event please contact Marta Sabou ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ).

Info: [email protected] | Copyright ©2008 STI International, All rights reserved.